RSS Feed

Experimenting with Evernote

Experimenting with Evernote

On Monday I got some great responses to my post about getting organized. There are a lot of different tools that we all use, some of which I have never heard of before! I’m sure I’m not the only one, so I thought it might be a good idea to go through and check out these different programs that several of you mentioned. First up: Evernote.

Before I get started, let me give you some background on the technology I have at my disposal. I work on a Mac, though at heart I’m a PC gal. I don’t have any tablets, so it’s purely laptop/desktop or pencil and paper for me. I also have an Android phone, and an old school iPod nano (without a touch screen, like the Dark Ages!).

I happened to have the Evernote software on my computer, which was a nice start! When I opened it, I was prompted to sign up for an account. It took my email and a password I created, and I was off! The interface is pretty straightforward and not cluttered, which I liked a lot.

What you get with Evernote is pretty simple: Much like Microsoft OneNote, you have a basic word processing program. Unlike OneNote, which allows you to click anywhere on the page and start writing, Evernote is a bit less free, confining you to starting at the top and working your way down.

The program gives you the ability to organize your thoughts into notebooks, and then to give each page within that notebook a header. It also timestamps all of your entries, which could be helpful when revising and trying to sort through which ideas are the most recent. It also has a GPS stamp, which I’m sure has a purpose for some people (?), but it’s cool either way!

It also has an audio recording function, so for those of us who like to dictate our thoughts, they’ve got you covered!

The most useful part about Evernote, though, is the ability to sync everything live and keep your notes up to date across devices. If you own the whole Apple product family, this means that your information is updated live across your devices, effortlessly.

You can also log in to the program with any web browser, which means you can still access it even if you don’t own a Mac, or any Apple product, for that matter. The interface is not as comprehensive as the actual desktop software, but it definitely gets the job done and includes nearly all of the features that you can get from the download.

Overall, I have to say I like Evernote a lot, though I’m not sure I’ll make a point of using it for organizing myself. It reminds me a lot of what the Google Drive programs can offer, as far as live updating and desktop vs. web browser capability. But like I said, I’m a newbie to Evernote! If you feel strongly for (or against!) the program, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

