RSS Feed

Getting Organized

Getting Organized

Now that I have time to start looking at new work, I’m realizing that I don’t really have the best system for keeping track of ideas for stories. I’m a post-it person, and I’m beginning to realize that’s a problem, because post-its are not sticky forever, and when they’re not sticky they become little pieces of paper that get stuck to your shoes and fall in the trash accidentally. The walls around my desk look like those walls that serial killers have in detective shows—post-its all over the place, with arrows and notes that only make sense to me. One of my friends was chatting with me a few weeks ago and noticed the wall. “What is that?” she asked me. “That’s my book,” I said.

It’s not that I lack organizational tools—I have so many journals I can’t even tell you. I’m constantly finding journals tucked away on shelves, in boxes, and in drawers. People know that I write, and apparently journals are THE best gifts for friends and family who write. I have more journals then I could ever fill, even if I started journaling daily, starting now and ending in year 3014.

My problem is that I don’t really carry journals around with me, and I have no desire to do so. I don’t generally find myself struck with new ideas while I’m out living my life. Usually I’m thinking about what I’m trying to accomplish, like whether or not bread is on sale, and when was the last time I got my oil changed?, and I really shouldn’t buy any more cheese. I’ve heard that some writers are inspired by people they see on the street, or snippets of conversation heard in passing, or situational observations out in the world. Maybe I’m not paying enough attention, but even if I were, what would it look like if I whipped out a notebook and started taking notes while pretending I wasn’t eavesdropping on the people across from me on the subway? Not that it would be that weird, considering some of the things that happen on the subway . . .

What the wall behind my desk often looks like.

Anyway, I tend to be digital. I used to use Microsoft OneNote, which lets you just word vomit all over, and I definitely like that. I have files with titles like “first lines” or just “story ideas”, and I tend to just list things that would be really strange if someone were discovering them 100 years from now with no context (What is “female gladiators” supposed to be?). That system worked for me, but now that I have a different computer, I’m realizing I haven’t looked at any of those ideas in nearly two years. I know there’s lots of software for this sort of thing, so my question for all of you this week is this: What do you use to organize your ideas? Are you finding post-its all over your house, like me, or do you have a better system? Do you prefer to be digital, or hard copy? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

